A Meaningful Purpose

I have a knack for starting blogs and then letting them go to waste. Hopefully this one lasts longer than my previous attempts (meaning 2 years).

The real reason for this blog business, is that I will be serving a 2 year mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints in the Ukraine Dnepropetrovsk Mission. What exactly does that mean?

I will go to bed at 10:30 every night, and get up at 6:30 every morning. I will be wearing a shirt and tie 6 days a week, spend countless hours knocking on doors, eating disgusting food, oh yeah, and learning to speak Russian (интересно!). I will only be able to contact my friends and family other than emails/letters on Mother’s Day and Christmas, when I will get to make a phone call.

Roughly speaking, the distance between Bakersfield, CA and Dnepropetrovsk is 6,345 miles.

Now that you know think I should see a psychiatrist, I’ll explain how this is gonna go down: letters, stories, pictures, notes, etc, will get posted here so you can see what is going on with my life. I am pretty freaking excited, and so should you be: Garrett is moving to a place where the Mission Home (headquarters, office, etc.) is on Karl Marx Avenue!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

