Life is Grand.

So it has been a fairly uneventful week, I am sad to say. It was just routine, and didn’t have a whole lot of excitement going on. Things should pick up here soon though, we get all of the newbies tomorrow, and an entire district of Native Eastern Europeans next Wednesday, which will be very exciting. We actually got the first of the new missionaries last night, Elder Dannenbach, he is from Hamburg, Germany, so he had an early arrival being an international missionary. He flew from Hamburg to Paris, and then straight to Salt Lake which I thought was crazy! haha. Every day during gym we play soccer, and it usually ends up being the Russians and the Pollocks vs. the Bulgarians and whomever else happens to be there. Needless to say, we always have the upper hand (There are two Elders from Germany going to Warsaw) and will only get better with Elder Dannenbach! I’m sorry Elder Bishop, but there is no translation from Moneyball to MTC soccer, your team always loses! (That was for James, haha). In the new district coming in tomorrow, there is another Elder from Japan, an Elder from Canada and a sister from Mexico, so that should be pretty exciting to have lots of different people here for the next 5 weeks!

Speaking of people coming, Zach Shurtleff, a friend of mine from Timp, will be here tomorrow! He is going to Kyiv, speaking Ukrainian so he is in the other branch/zone, but his class is right across the hall. Matt Relei and Jake Jacobus get here too! It should be pretty fun! One of my really good friends from school, Reggie Lewis (AKA "White Regg") got here on Wednesday, it was great to get the info from him about the conference stuff. Randomly, Jesse Welsh is one of his teachers, so that is pretty neat.

Okay, onto "Babylon" (aka, the Real World). Word quickly spread about the Independent status, and the West Coast Conference in all other Sports. Not only is having our own contract with ESPN legit, but playing Notre Dame 6 times is also grand, as is getting to play Gonzaga every year in the Marriott Center. I like the move a lot. BYU being able to broadcast everything themselves from the new broadcast building will give the Church a lot of recognition around the world. I know my mission President saw the announcement live, in the mission home in Dnepropetrovsk, which greatly boosted my spirits of possibly being allowed to see a game or too 😉 I think watching us beat Notre Dame would be a good missionary tool, all of our Russian Orthodox investigators would love a Catholic school getting beat! haha.

I heard the score of the game, and got a little bit of a run-down from some Senior missionaries, it sounded like a good one, and both Nelson and Heaps played great. Hopefully we can keep rolling through the Academy this weekend and be ready for Florida State.

I also got to go to the Real World again, last Thursday. A crown I have came loose in one spot, and so I had a small cavity beneath it. So I got all novacained up, and the dentist started drilling away, and was able to take care of it without having to replace the crown. I’m really glad my tooth was for some unknown reason sensitive, because a cavity was inevitable, and if I had been in Ukraine when I felt it, I probably would have just had to get the tooth pulled, and then worry about a fake one after I got back. The Man Upstairs is looking out for #1!

I have been studying the Fall of Adam and Eve a lot lately, and really just the entire first portion of the Plan of Salvation. It is really blowing my mind to think about, and it made me really sad to think about how God must have felt. God made the plan, and Lucifer made his. God’s plan involved someone tempting his children, and he knew that it would be Lucifer. How depressing would that be to know that 1/3 of your children were going to just say "see you later!" Also, it boggles my mind that those spirits would choose to follow Satan, when they knew the consequences of what their choice would be. I guess it’s similar to someone who received a Telestial glory being unhappy in the Terrestial or Celestial kingdom, except they didn’t want any glory at all. It’s a lot to try and wrap your head around.

That’s mostly it, I hope everyone had a good Labor Day, and a good first weekend of College Football. Oh yeah, I forgot! We were studying outside and you could hear the game, it was very depressing. I made a comment about how it sucked that we were so close to the Stadium. A Sister in the other district in our zone said "Think about it. You could be there right now, screaming your guts out, cheering our team on. But you’re not, because you made the right decision in giving up your favorite things in the world, for something that is the greatest thing in Eternity." It was really profound, and helped a lot, because, I was quite depressed when I walked outside, and could only hear: "BBBBBBB-YYYYYYY-UUUUUUUU-CCCCCOOUUGGAARRRSS!!!!!!"

Okay that’s it, haha. I will let you all attend to your business. I am going to go do a little studying before laundry. Please keep the letters coming, they are my favorite part of the day, I love reading about your lives and what you are doing, especially the ones where you go in depth and leave more than just a note 🙂 If you wrote me, I promise I’ll write back, I am just a little behind, time is short! I have a list, and all of your names are on it, PROMISE!

Love,

Elder McClintock

NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

