3 Weeks left!

So it is weird to me that this is the 8th email I have sent. I have been here for two weeks, and that is pretty crazy yeah? Time just really flies by. Things are starting to turn into a grind, and I am itching to get out of the MTC and in-country, I feel like I’m hitting the wall with language where I can’t progress as quickly because I just need to be around native speakers 24/7, so days are seeming longer because I’m not picking up as much, it’s just refining now and learning vocab.

I love our new district of Natives! They are awesome, and super funny. The funniest is Elder Vargin, he is from Moscow, and is about 6’8"; and a gentle giant. I love talking to him, in Russian and helping him with his English. He taught us all how the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles themesong goes in Russian, and it doesn’t translate well so it’s funny. The Russian version of the song goes like this: "We are not pitiful protegies, we are Super Ninja Turtles, We wear Shells like Shirts, Young Talents, Bonzai!" haha. He also had a freak out experience when he first met Elder (Neil) Bishop, my friend from school. He thought that he was a missionary AND a bishop, and said "Wow, he must really be good if he has to do both at the same time!" It was a fun explanation to give ๐Ÿ™‚

If you haven’t seen the new.familysearch.org site yet, you should check it out, it is way sweet. I Traced myself back to Adam! I don’t know how accurate it is, but I’m sticking to it ๐Ÿ™‚

The coolest part about that though, was that I found (accurately) that I’m a direct decendent of Vladimir I, "The Great" Duke of Kiev. Why is this so important? He united the Pycb (roose) tribes and the Byzantine empire of what is now modern day Ukraine. And he wanted to establish a religion for his kingdom, so he sent messengers to investigate the Catholic, Eastern Orthodox, and Muslim churches, and after his messengers got back, the descriptions of the Orthodox churches impressed him, and thus, the Russian Orthodox church is born. He rid the area of the Peagan religions, and instituted Christianity. I guess I’m just keeping it all in the family, yeah?

He was also a very "social" guy, with over 800 wives/concubines, but that’s besides the point. hahaha.

At our temple walk on Sunday, Donny Osmond pulled up, and started talking to us, and was walking around with one of his kids, it was super random, and pretty dang funny. He is a weird guy, haha, I guess that’s what happen when your life now consists of Branson, MO and performing in Vegas.

Alision, Eliza, Laurie, Marissa and Jacquie: Thank you for the cookies! They were delicious (as always!)! I don’t have ya’lls mailing address, but I think Elder Casey might so I will try to get it from him and send ya’ll something.

Speaking of cookies, since I have 3 weeks left at the MTC, I am instituting a (semi-optional) competition! Whoever sends me the best package between now, and my departure date, will get a souvenier sent to them ASAP from Ukraine! So far, the leader is Hannah Davis with the box of Tim-Tams! The voting will be done by the members of my district, so it will be a fair trial by jury ๐Ÿ™‚

That is about it for this week. I’m working hard, and trying my best, I sleep easy every night, so that is good! I really can’t wait to be out there really getting to work, rather than just preparing for the hard part!

I love you all,

Elder McClintock

NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

