Merry Christmas to All!

I hope everyone had an absolutely wonderful Christmas. Mine was great, albeit quite different as a missionary. I LOVED being able to talk to my family. Our mission is able to Skype, and with the newest version, we were able to have a group video chat. It was one of my favorite moments of my mission so far. It was wonderful.

Christmas day was really fun. We showed the movie "Joy to the World" at the branch, and went Christmas caroling in between the two showings. We drew a nice little crowd as we belted every Christmas song in the Russian hymn book. "What Child is This?" is in the Russian hymn book, and everyone here loves to sing that hymn, just because it isn’t in the English hymnal. haha.

We had our "real" Christmas meal for lunch on the 24th. Sister Smirnova has been having a lot of pain in one of her teeth, and she was going to the dentist. She didn’t know what he would want to do, so we did the lunch before her appointment. I roasted a chicken, and made mashed potatoes, and the sisters baked a banana cream pie and rolls. It was wonderful. We even capped it off with a reading of "’Twas the Night Before Christmas". Sister Smith’s family found a copy that you could record yourself reading the story. Her dad always reads it to the whole family on Christmas Eve, so he recorded himself reading it, and mailed the book. It was pretty nifty, all we had to do was turn the pages and the book read itself to us! haha.

We went ice skating today for P-Day. That was really fun. Well, at least for everyone but Elder Berndt. He isn’t the best skater (I’ll defend Elder Condie and myself, we tried to teach him, but he wouldn’t listen) and was really mopey the entire time. Elder Condie and I had a great time ๐Ÿ™‚

The only other really "exciting" news if you could call it that was that I made peanut brittle. I took it to the branch on Christmas day for our district and accidentally left it there, so I just gave it out to people at church. They don’t have anything like it here and were all amazed by it. I guess I am quite the master chef. Everyone asked me to teach them how to make it, so I wrote down the recipe, gave it to a member, and told everyone the he knows how. haha. It was pretty flattering ๐Ÿ™‚

Well, once again, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Also, a EXTRA SPECIAL HAPPPPPYYYY BIRTHDAY to my Mom! I won’t say how old she is, but she had a birthday on the 25th.

Elder McClintock

PS: Happy Birthday Hannah Davis! Yet another Christmas Birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

