One Week in the Office Down

Well, more like three days. Basically, my schedule will be filled with working in the mission office from 11-5, Tuesday thru Friday for the next few transfers. It’ll be something different, and I’ll be "in the know" about things. I even get to go do exciting things like be at "Executive Meetings". yay for me!

This week was an interesting one, with all of the transfers, being in a threesome, having to pack and meet up with a mini-missionary in the process of it all. Needless to say, we didn’t have much time to work on Pobyeda before the transfer, with my packing, and getting the area squared away to be white washed we didn’t have much time to be outside on the streets. Elder Boboshko also had a few family things to tie up, which I felt were okay for him to do seeing as he dropped everything to serve a mini-mission in 3 days. He will be a great companion for Elder Stanford, and will be an amazing missionary when all of his documents get squared away and he can leave full-time. He is always willing to help, and is always asking questions about how he can improve and what he needs to do to be a better missionary. He is a great example of an active learner who is trying to soak up all he can from the current opportunity that he has to serve this transfer.

I am really excited for our district this transfer. I have finally been reunited with Elder Walton! We have only talked to each other twice since we got into country 8 and a half months ago, so I am glad to be in the same district with him. We will make sure we get to spend our year mark together on splits, since he will be the district leader. I am also excited to be back in the center branch. It needs some help, but I love the members that are there week in and week out.

Yesterday at church, Vova Davidenko, the mission visa clerk, spoke about why families are important. Vova is one of my favorite people I have met in Ukraine and will be a rock in the future church leadership in Ukraine. He told a story about his oldest son, Daniel, who is just over 2 years old. It has been rainy for the last week, and the storm was really bad on Saturday. Vova left to run into the mission office to work on some things, and Daniel watched him from the window. He called Masha, Vova’s wife, over and said "Mom! There is thunder and lighting outside! Dad is out there and it’s scary!" Masha told him that everything would be okay, and that Dad would be okay. Daniel grabbed Masha’s hand, led her into the bedroom, and knelt down next to the bed, folded his arms, and bowed his head.

Vova said that hearing his wife tell him of that, was the most rewarding thing he had ever. This is a guy who has served a mission, is fluent in 3 languages and working on a 4th, and played professional basketball. While all of that was great, knowing you are raising your kids well meant more than it all.

I’ll slap on some pictures for you all. The first is me in the Ukrainian costume I got. I had a member in my branch sew it all for me. The next is a picture of me next to the Macaulay Culkin graffiti I saw one day. Another is me by the lock bridge. They have a tradition here where when you get married, you have a lock engraved, you lock it on a bridge, and chuck the key into the water running under the bridge. The last is Elder Walton and I.

A group of churches got together and put on "Joseph and the Technicolor Dreamcoat" and we got invited. They did it for free for the whole community. It was really fun and the entire thing was translated. All the missionaries got together and were able to go, it was a good day. So that was the highlight of my week.

I hope you are all doing well, and I want to congratulate (Sister) Karissa Bosco who will be serving in the Cordoba Argentina Mission! You will love it!

Elder McClintock

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

